Skip to content


ASECS Committees, 2022–2023

Engage with the society on a new level by joining a committee! ASECS has a number of standing committees, in addition to other limited-term task forces and subcommittees, that help advance the mission of supporting the interdisciplinary and global study and teaching of the long eighteenth century.

Below are some of our standing committees with their descriptions. Read about other volunteer opportunities, and learn how to express your interest in committee service, on our Volunteer Page.

Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA)

Chair: Greta LaFleur (American Studies), Queer and Trans Caucus
Stephanie Hershinow (English), Women’s Caucus
Lisa Cody, (History) Board
At Large: (vacant)
Sal Nicolazzo (English), Race and Empire Caucus
Pichaya (Mint) Damrongpiwat (English), Grad Student Caucus
Travis Lau (English), Disability Studies Caucus

Graduate Student Prize Committee

Identifies best graduate student research essay prize and best graduate student conference paper.

Chair: James Greene, Indiana State, English
Amy Freund, SMU, Art History
Shane Agin, Duquesne, French/ItalianChair: James Greene, Indiana State, English
Amy Freund, SMU, Art History
Shane Agin, Duquesne, French/Italian

Harassment Committee

The Harassment Committee is charged with receiving complaints from any participant in an ASECS-sponsored activity who has experienced a violation of the harassment policy.

Chair: Simon Stern, U Toronto, Law
Christy Pichichero, George Mason, French
Susan Lanser, Brandeis University, English/WGSS
David Alf, English (alternate)
Corinne Harol, English (alternate)

Note: ASECS also engages the services of an external, neutral Ombuds.

Innovative Course Design Committee

Members may submit proposals to demonstrate innovative undergraduate teaching.


James L. Clifford Prize Committee

Selects the best article on an eighteenth-century topic.

2023 Committee will be posted in the summer.

2022 Commitee:
Chair: Michael Lynn, Purdue University Northwest
Avi Lifschitz, Oxford University, 2020 winner
Susan Libby, Rollins College
Melissa Schoenberger, College of the Holy Cross

Louis Gottschalk Prize Committee

Selects the best book in eighteenth-century studies.

2023 Committee will be posted in the summer.

2022 Commitee:
Chair: Manushag N. Powell, Purdue, English
Dustin Stewart, Columbia, English
Brooke Newman, VCU, History
Sarah Benharrech, Univeristy of Maryland, French
Christopher Drew Armstrong, University of Pittsburgh, Art History

Media and Publications Advisor Committee (MPAC)

Advises the Executive Board and the Business Office on matters broadly related to communications and publications.

Chair, Benita Blessing, Executive Director
Emily Friedman, Auburn University
Craig Hanson, Calvin University

Nominating Committee

Prepares a slate of ASECS members to run for various offices. The offices to be filled annually include the Second Vice-President and two positions as Members-at-Large.

2023 Committee will be published in the summer.

2022 Committee:
Chair: Scott Breuninger, VCU, History/Irish Studies
Pannil Camp, Washington University in St. Louis, Theater
Jennifer Tsien, University of Virginia, French
Courtney Weiss Smith, Wesleyan, English
Laura Stevens, Tulsa, English

Program Committee for Annual Meeting, Toronto 2024

Assists the Business Office to plan the Annual Meeting.

Chair: Daniel O’Quinn, Guelph, Theater
Advisor for Accessibility, Disability, and Inclusion: Sarah Eron, University of Delaware, Inclusion
Dana Lew, University of Toronto, English/Graduate Student Member
Robert Paulett, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, History
Hanna Roman, Dickinson College, French

Note: Please contact Executive Director Benita Blessing for questions about the Annual Meeting (

Srinivas Aravamudan Prize Committee

Selects best article in previous academic year that “pushes the boundaries, geographical and conceptual, of eighteenth-century studies, especially by using a transnatianal, comparative, or cosmopolitan approach.”

Chair: Chloe Wigston Smith, material culture, University of York (UK)
Sarah Eyerly, Florida State, Music
Rachel Wheeler, IUPUI, Religion/History
Peggy Elliot, Georgia College, French

Travel Awards Committee

2023 Committee will be pushed in the summer.

2022 Committee:
Chair: Carole Martin, Texas State, French
Annelise Andries, Utrecht, Music
Amber Ludwig, Honolulu Museum of Art, Art History
Stephanie Insley Hershinow, CUNY, English

Traveling Jam Pot Fund Committee

Awards ABDs and PhDs within one year of their completion $300 plus conference registration in order to attend the Annual Meeting.

2023 Committee will be pushed in the summer.

2022 Committee:
Chair: Rachel Zimmerman, Colorado State Pueblo, Art History
Mattie Burkert, U of Oregon, English
Stephen Lazer, Arizona State, History

Delegates to Coalition Partners

American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS): Elizabeth Kraft, University of Georgia (through 6/2027)

International Society of Eighteenth-Century Studies (ISECS): Chunjie Zhang, University of California Davis (through 6/2025)