Skip to content

Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture

Congratulations to new SECC Editor George Boulukos!

Editor-in-Chief of Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture: George Boulukos is Professor of English and Affiliate Faculty in the School of Africana Studies at Southern Illinois University Carbondale. Professor Boulukos has been an active member of ASECS since graduate school; highlights include his work with the Race and Empire Caucus and the Bylaws Task Force.

SECC Editors David Brewer and Crystal Lake will be helping in the hand-off to Professor Boulukos, whose term begins July 1, 2024. Their vision for the journal has helped establish it as a respected source of new and emerging scholarship that, thanks to SECC’s inclusion in the Project Muse portfolio, reaches a broad and diverse readership. Please join the Executive Board in thanking Professors Brewer and Lake for their contributions to ASECS and the field of eighteenth-century studies.

The Executive Board also thanks the SECC Search Committee (Karen Stolley – chair, Benita Blessing, Craig Hanson, and Ramesh Mallipeddi) for their work, and extends its appreciation to the number of qualified candidates eager to serve in this role.

Studies in Eighteenth-Century Culture is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal published annually for the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS) by the Johns Hopkins University Press. SECC publishes revised versions of papers and roundtable remarks presented in any public venue in the previous two years by a member of ASECS or of a learned society affiliated with ASECS or ISECS. This includes papers given virtually or online. Digitized as part of Project Muse, SECC is a membership benefit of Patrons and Sponsoring Members of ASECS and is offered to all members at a discount.

Call for Submissions: Volume 55, deadline August 15, 2024.

For the next volume, Volume 55, the journal invites provocative and rigorous essays that chart out new directions for research on the cultures of the long eighteenth century, including contributions to history, literary history, the history of visual art, theatre and performance studies, musicology, material culture studies, gender and sexuality studies, and the studies of race, indigeneity, and empire. Essays from under-represented areas of inquiry are particularly welcome.

The journal is committed to publishing not only individual essays, but also one or more “clusters” of contributions that stem from the same panel or roundtable (or, in the case of double or triple sessions on a shared topic, the same series of panels or roundtables). If you are a session chair interested in pursuing this option, please contact the editor soon after your conference or other public event has concluded in order to confirm that your cluster is of an appropriate scope and to determine the best length for the individual contributions.

Guidelines for Submission to Volume 55:

Revised versions of papers and roundtable remarks presented in any public venue by a member of ASECS or of a learned society affiliated with ASECS or ISECS between JULY 1, 2022 and JUNE 30, 2024 are eligible for consideration. Single essay submissions are typically between 5,000 and 10,000 words in length, including notes, although we will consider substantively revised contributions of other lengths. Submissions are normally in English and should follow the 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. Submissions will be evaluated through blind peer review. Authors are therefore asked to avoid identifying themselves, and references to one’s own scholarship should be made in the third person. SECC cannot consider papers already submitted to other journals. The deadline for submission is AUGUST 15, 2024. Please send all inquiries and submissions to Editor-in-Chief George Boulukos at

Editor: David Brewer, The Ohio State University

Associate Editor: Crystal Lake, Wright State University

Editorial Board:
  • Sarah Benharrech, University of Maryland
  • Benjamin Breen, University of California-Santa Cruz
  • Sarah Cohen, State University of New York-Albany
  • Olivia Sabee, Swarthmore College
  • Jennifer Van Horn, University of Delaware
  • Chloe Wigston Smith, University of York
  • Benita Blessing, Executive Director, ASECS (ex-officio)